7. July 2017

The candidates will be made public during the opening of the film market New Nordic Films on Tuesday 22 August, in connection with the Norwegian International Film Festival in Haugesund.

Festival and Programme Director Tonje Hardersen is delighted that the Nordic Council looks to Haugesund when the nominees for the Nordic Council Film Prize will be announced.

– This is a great honour for us. The Norwegian International Film Festival has cultivated its Nordic film profile for many years, and consequently our festival has become one of the most important meeting places for the Nordic film industry. So we believe that Haugesund will be an ideal arena to announce the nominees for the Nordic Council Film Prize.

Hardersen thinks it is especially suitable for the nominees to be announced during the opening of New Nordic Films, the film market where a number of Nordic films have been initiated, developed and sold since the market saw the light of day in 1995.

Announced by “Shame”-stars

The he 2017 Nordic Council Film Prize will be made public on Tuesday 22 August during the opening of New Nordic Films at the Edda cinema in Haugesund, and the nominated films will be screened during the festival. 

The nominees will be announced by Norwegian rising stars Tarjei Sandvik Moe and Iman Meskini from NRK’s hit series Skam (Shame). 

Sandvik Moe plays Isak Valtersen, lead character of of Skam (Shame) season 3, and Meskini plays Sana Bakkoush, the main character in the forth and final season.

Petri Kemppinen is the CEO of Nordisk Film & TV Fond, the secretariat for the Nordic Council Film Prize. He believes the Norwegian International Film Festival to be an excellent platform for the announcement of the five nominated films:

– We are thrilled to announce this years’ five Nordic Council Film Prize nominated films at New Nordic Films in Haugesund. I am sure the announcement will add a nice dose of suspense to look forward to, at the event that is a major showcase for Nordic films within our region and globally.

About the Nordic Council Film Prize
The goal of the Nordic Council’s prizes is to increase interest in the Nordic cultural community and environmental co-operation, and to recognise outstanding artistic and environmental efforts. The prizes shall help promote and demonstrate Nordic co-operation.

The winner of the prize is announced on Wednesday 1 November during the Nordic Council session in Helsinki.

The prize is given to an artistically valuable, Nordic-produced feature film for theatrical release. It must have premiered between 1 July 2016 and 30 June 2017. The prize consists of DKK 350,000 and is shared equally between the film’s screenwriter, director and producer, in emphasis of film as an art form arising from a close co-operation between these main functions.

The criteria for nomination
The nominated film must to a considerable degree be rooted in Nordic culture and must be of artistic quality, distinguish themselves through artistic originality, and unite and refine the numerous elements of a film into a convincing and assured work.

The national and Nordic jury
The national jury consists of three members appointed by the Nordic Council of Ministers (the ministers of culture). The jury is appointed with prominent personalities who in their line of work are approaching films analytically and critically. The national jury is appointed for a three-year period.

The members of the national juries for 2017 are: Per Juul Carlsen, Jakob Wendt Jensen, Eva Novrup Redvall (Denmark), Jaana Puskala, Harri Römpötti, Mikaela Westerlund (Finland), Silja Hauksdóttir, Börkur Gunnarsson, Helga Þórey Jónsdóttir (Iceland), Inger Merete Hobbelstad, Kalle Løchen, Britt Sørensen (Norway), Kristina Börjeson, Gunnar Bergdahl, Emma Gray-Munthe (Sweden). The leaders of each national jury form the Nordic jury.

Former winners of the Nordic Council Film Prize
The Nordic Council Film Prize was presented for the first time in 2002. It went to the Finnish film Mies vailla menneisyyttä (The Man Without a Past) by Aki Kaurismäki.

In 2005 the prize became permanent and the winners of the following years were:

2005: Drabet (Manslaughter), directed by Per Fly, written by Kim Leona, Dorte Høgh, Mogens Rukov and Per Fly, and produced by Ib Tardini for Zentropa, Denmark.
2006: Zozo, written and directed by Josef Fares and produced by Anna Anthony for Memfis Film, Sweden.
2007: Kunsten at græde i kor (The Art of Crying), directed by Peter Schønau Fog, written by Bo hr. Hansen (based on a novel by Erling Jepsen) and produced by Thomas Stenderup for Final Cut, Denmark.
2008: Du levande (You, the Living), written and directed by Roy Andersson and produced by Pernilla Sandström for Studio 24, Sweden.
2009: Antichrist, written and directed by Lars von Trier and produced by Meta Louise Foldager for Zentropa, Denmark.
2010: Submarino, written and directed by Thomas Vinterberg, written by Tobias Lindholm and produced by Morten Kaufmann for Nimbus Film, Denmark.
2011: Svinalängorna (Beyond), written and directed by Pernilla August, written by Lolita Ray, produced by Helena Danielsson and Ralf Karlsson for Hepp Film, Sweden.
2012: Play, written and directed by Ruben Östlund, produced by Erik Hemmendorff for Plattform Produktion, Sweden.
2013: Jagten (The Hunt), written and directed by Thomas Vinterberg, written by Tobias Lindholm, produced by Sisse Graum Jørgensen and Morten Kaufmann for Zentropa, Denmark.
2014: Hross í oss (Of Horses and Men), written and directed by Benedikt Erlingsson, produced by Fridrik Thor Fridriksson for Hrossabrestur, Iceland.
2015: Fúsi (Virgin Mountain), written and directed by Dagur Kári, produced by Baltasar Kormákur and Agnes Johansen for RVK Studios, Iceland.
2016: Louder Than Bombs, written and directed by Joachim Trier, written by Eskil Vogt, produced by Thomas Robsahm for Motlys, Norway.